May 29, 2023

Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma welcomed Rupjyoti Kurmi into BJP at an occasion in Lakhimpur district.


Former Congress chief and four-time MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi joined the ruling BJP at this time within the presence of Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma at an occasion in Assam’s Lakhimpur district.

Mr Kurmi despatched his resignation to the Congress excessive command and resigned from the Assembly on Friday. The similar day, Congress expelled him for “anti-party activities”.

Son of former Congress minister Rupam Kurmi, he represented the Mariani constituency in Jorhat district for 4 consecutive phrases since 2006.

Chief Minister Sarma welcomed Mr Kurmi into the BJP and described him as one of many strongest youth leaders within the state. He stated Mr Kurmi was prepared to hitch the BJP in 2019, however that could not occur and added that his entry would significantly assist the BJP.

According to a PTI report, the Chief Minister stated that impressed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s beliefs and exhausting work to construct a developed nation, many political leaders have joined the BJP. “It is my firm belief that a day will come when all people and organisations of the state will be associated with the BJP and help in building a strong and developed nation,” he was quoted as saying.

Among the members of the Assembly elected after the state polls this yr, Mr Kurmi was the one Congress legislator from segments dominated by the tea tribe group.

“Many people are saying that I have joined BJP for some post or opportunities but let me make it clear that I do not want any post but only an opportunity to work for the development and progress of the people and the state,” he was quoted as saying by PTI.

He has blamed the Congress management for not acknowledging his contributions and never giving him any place of accountability. “The party is headed for ruin in the state.”

Earlier, Ajanta Neog, a loyalist of Congress chief and former Assam Chief Minister late Tarun Gogoi, had joined the BJP months after Mr Gogoi’s dying final yr. She was sitting MLA from Golaghat. She contested the Assembly polls this yr from the identical seat as a BJP candidate and gained.

The Congress-led alliance secured 50 seats within the Assembly elections. Out of those, the Congress gained 29 seats. The BJP-led alliance secured 75 seats, with BJP rising as the only largest celebration with 60 seats in its kitty.

There is theory that Mr Kurmi could contest the bypolls in Mariani as a BJP candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *