February 6, 2023
How Rebels Were A Factor In BJP

The BJP misplaced many seats in Himachal resulting from rebels slicing into the votes


The Congress has returned to energy in Himachal Pradesh, proving as soon as once more the state’s decades-old ‘custom’ of voting out a authorities after a single time period.

The BJP did attempt very onerous to interrupt this cyclical sample. Party chief JP Nadda held some 50 rallies, Prime Minister Narendra Modi held 5 rallies, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath held 20 rallies and union minister Anurag Thakur even shed tears.

But the BJP misplaced. Enter the rebels.

The setback for the BJP is principally resulting from celebration rebels who contested in 21 of the 68 seats. The BJP misplaced at the least 9 seats the place the rebels contested.

Two of the rebels received. First is Hoshiyar Singh from Dehra, who left the BJP after not getting a ticket. He received by some 14,000 votes. The different is KL Thakur, who received from Nalagarh.

There are many different seats the place the BJP misplaced as a result of rebels slicing into the votes.

For instance, in Kinnaur, the Congress’s Jagat Singh Negi received, whereas the BJP insurgent Tejwant Singh Negi lower into BJP votes, finally pushing down the numbers for his former celebration.

Another instance is Indora, the place the Congress’s Malender Rajan received. The BJP insurgent right here, Manohar Dhiman, took 4,422 votes, taking away from what the BJP would have gotten had he not rebelled.

The votes the rebels acquired would have ideally gone to the BJP. In a state the place every constituency has lower than one lakh whole votes on common, minor swings can imply loads.

Adding to the insurgent drawback was three factions at play within the BJP. One was led by Mr Nadda, one other by Mr Thakur, and the third by Chief Minister Jairam Thakur.

The celebration declared Jairam Thakur as its face within the state, however Anurag Thakur was seen as a possible challenger and even shed a tear publicly “in praise of the hard work” of his father, former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, who was not given the ticket, although Mr Dhumal and the celebration insisted he had chosen to retire. Mr Dhumal was seen as a possible wingman if the BJP wanted to woo the rebels.

In all, the Congress received 40 seats, a cushty majority, with the BJP at 25. The Aam Aadmi Party did not win a single seat.

Featured Video Of The Day

“Don’t Try Any Stunt”: Congress’ Vikramaditya Singh To BJP On Himachal Win

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *