April 2, 2023
3 More MLAs Quit Meghalaya Assembly, Likely To Join Ruling Party


Meghalaya has had just one majority authorities because the seventies. (File)


A political musical chair is the spotlight of the election season in Meghalaya. As many as 20 MLAs have to this point switched their allegiances throughout their tenure within the 60-member state meeting with lots of them even becoming a member of ideologically-opposed outfits.

Last 12 months, 12 Congress MLAs had joined Trinamool led by former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, making it the primary opposition occasion in Meghalaya.

But the previous month noticed far more defections: the lone Nationalist Congress (NCP) MLA joined Congress, two National People’s Party (NPP) leaders joined BJP, a NPP chief joined Trinamool, and a Trinamool candidate shifted to BJP.

Samborlang Deingdoh, a Trinamool candidate who stop regardless of getting an election ticket, stated, “I don’t want to be a part of the mudslinging politics and want to promote clean politics. I am confident I can do it myself.”

Besides, a Trinamool chief additionally joined United Democratic Party (UDP), two Trinamool leaders joined NPP, an Independent chief joined BJP, whereas two People’s Democratic Front (PDF) leaders joined NPP.

Among the suspended Congress leaders, three joined NPP and two joined UDP. Besides, a Khun Hynniewtrep National (*60*) Movement (KHNAM) joined the Voice of the People Party (VPP), a Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) chief joined NPP and UDP every. One Independent MLA additionally joined UDP.

“At state level, during the last polls, UDP supported HSPDP. So I have decided to strengthen the regional force UDP by joining them,” stated Meghalaya Minister Renikton Lyngdoh, who’s among the many 20 MLAs who’ve defected.

At least 17 of the defectors, together with eight MLAs from different events, have been fielded by Chief Minister Conrad Sangma-led NPP.

Prominent Meghalaya leaders, like four-time Independent MLA Samuel Sangma, have joined the BJP. Meanwhile, Dr Ampareen Lyngdoh, the longest serving lady legislator and a former Congress minister, has joined NPP.

“The NPP has been able to lead a coalition and bring some good schemes. So we thought we can join this progressive work,” stated Dr Lyngdoh.

Among different defectors is three-time MLA Saleng Sangma, who left Sharad Pawar’s NCP and joined Congress. Justifying his transfer, he defined, “For all these years I have voiced my support for NCP. It’s not about any vote bank or myself, but for the people. The Congress is still a platform to work for people.”

Also, Cabinet Minister Renikton Lyngdoh of HSPDP joined UDP.

Due to its unpredictable political climate, Meghalaya has had just one majority authorities because the seventies. Only three Chief Ministers have accomplished a full five-year time period within the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *